African Youth Arts Festival Contest

Are you a talented African visual artist based on the continent?

Are you aged between 18 - 35?

Do you have an online portfolio or examples of your work?

Are you creating visual narratives that are authentic, creative and contemporary?

If so, this opportunity is for you.

To support Africa's young and vibrant arts community, the African Union Development Agency-NEPAD (AUDA-NEPAD) and Africa No Filter (ANF) invite visual artists to submit artwork in commemoration of the African Union Theme 2021 “Year of the Arts, Culture and Heritage: Levers for Building the Africa We Want".

Three artists will be awarded with a cash prize as well as the opportunity for their work to be showcased during the African Youth Art Festival on 21 October 2021 and on our social channels. Artists will maintain the IP for their work and will be credited.

Theme: #TheAfricaYouthWant - we are seeking illustrations, sketches, paintings and designs that present an innovative, contemporary and non-stereotypical depiction of Africa, highlighting the creativity on the continent.

1st Prize: $1000
2nd Prize: $600
3rd Prize: $400


Deadline time: 4pm GMT / 5pm WAT / 6pm SAST / 7pm EAT

T's and C's:

  • One entry per person
  • By taking part in this competition, you agree that AUDA-NEPAD and ANF will have exclusive use of the submitted artwork for 1 year.
  • Applicant must be aged 35 or under on 21 October 2021.
  • Applications submitted after the deadline will not be considered
  • Applicants who do not meet the eligibility criteria will not be considered
  • Applications submitted via email will be discarded. Please submit your application via the application form only.

Queries can be directed to Millicent Kgeledi via Millicents@nepad.org